French (FR)French (FR)

Pages populaires :

Visit California logo

Attractions en Californie pour les familles ayant des besoins particuliers

Attractions en Californie pour les familles ayant des besoins particuliers

Ces parcs d'attractions, musées et terrains de jeux offrent des installations et un confort matériel pour tous

Removed from Likes

L'organisation de vacances familiales peut être compliquée en toutes circonstances, mais lorsqu'un membre de votre famille a des besoins particuliers, vous savez déjà que pour passer de bons moments, vous devez vous préparer un peu plus à l'avance. Heureusement, les attractions familiales en Californie sont parfaitement adaptées aux hôtes en situation de handicap, des rampes d'accès pour fauteuils roulants aux parcs d'attractions qui accueillent les visiteurs ayant des déficiences cognitives et qui pourraient être affectés par les bruits intenses ou les longues files d'attente.

Avant une visite, il est toujours recommandé de consulter la section accessibilité sur le site Web d'une attraction, où vous trouverez des détails sur les installations disponibles, notamment la location de fauteuils roulants ou d'appareils d'assistance auditive ou les événements spéciaux et les politiques relatives aux animaux d'assistance. Parfois, vous pourrez trouver de bonnes affaires : les parcs d'État de Californie, par exemple, offrent une remise de 50 % aux visiteurs en situation de handicap.

De nombreuses attractions proposent également des « descriptions sociales » qui aident les visiteurs souffrant de troubles du spectre de l'autisme à savoir à quoi s'attendre lors d'une visite, comme le guide mis à disposition par The Broad, un musée d'art contemporain très prisé au centre de Los Angeles, ou l'application mise au point par le MOXI Wolf Museum of Exploration & Innovation de Santa Barbara, axé sur les sciences. « Depuis toujours, nous nous efforçons de faire en sorte que notre musée soit inclusif et reflète notre communauté », déclare le directeur de l'éducation du MOXI, Ron Skinner. Il précise que l'application « aide les familles à mieux comprendre à quoi peut ressembler la visite du MOXI, afin qu'elles puissent prendre des décisions éclairées à l'avance. »

Voici plus de 20 attractions (notamment des parcs d'attractions, des terrains de jeux et des musées) qui ont placé la barre très haut en matière d'accueil des familles ayant des besoins particuliers.

PARCS À THÈME

SeaWorld San Diego

Inscrivez-vous au programme Accessibilité des hôtes, auprès des Services pour les hôtes à proximité de l'entrée principale de SeaWorld, et on vous remettra une fiche « RAP Sheet » (programme d'accessibilité aux manèges) qui permet à un hôte de réserver un horaire précis pour accéder aux manèges et attractions, en compagnie de cinq personnes inscrites avec lui au maximum. Le guide en ligne détaille les exigences physiques de chaque attraction, précisant par exemple qu'il faut être en mesure de s'agripper à un garde corps en utilisant au moins une main, etc. Si vous souhaitez qu'un interprète en langue des signes américaine vous assiste lors des spectacles et des visites, contactez les Services pour les hôtes deux semaines avant votre visite.

LEGOLAND California, Carlsbad

S'amuser avec des briques de LEGO est considéré depuis longtemps comme un bon moyen pour les enfants souffrant de troubles du spectre de l'autisme (ou d'autres problèmes) de développer des compétences sociales et de communication, et le parc qui met à l'honneur les petites briques de plastique accueille avec grand plaisir ces visiteurs. Demandez un Passe avec accès assisté auprès des Services pour les hôtes pour emprunter les manèges (aucun justificatif n'est nécessaire). Ce passe permettra au visiteur de prendre place à bord du manège de son choix sans attendre, puis de bénéficier d'horaires bien précis pour les autres manèges au cours de la journée. Le parc dispose également d'espaces calmes et propose un guide à télécharger pour l'accès en fauteuil roulant. Demandez une étiquette pour utiliser votre poussette comme fauteuil roulant, ou louez un fauteuil roulant ou une poussette près de l'entrée principale. Envoyez un courriel à experience@legoland.com au moins deux semaines avant votre visite si vous souhaitez que le parc de Carlsbad mette à votre disposition un interprète en langue des signes pour les spectacles.

Disneyland Resort, Anaheim

La Mecque des parcs à thème du comté d'Orange propose un large éventail d'offres aux visiteurs atteints de troubles moteurs, visuels et cognitifs. Commencez votre visite au Centre des relations des hôtes, où vous pourrez discuter de vos éventuels besoins pendant votre séjour. Par exemple, le Service d'accès aux visiteurs en situation de handicap propose des options comme les « heures de retour programmées » pour les attractions, planifiées l'une après l'autre sur l'appli du parc ou auprès du kiosque des Relations avec les hôtes. Avant votre visite, téléchargez la fiche Détails des attractions pour les hôtes souffrant de troubles cognitifs et le Guide des demandes alimentaires spéciales.

Knott’s Berry Farm, Buena Park

Gilroy Gardens, Gilroy

California’s Great America, Santa Clara

Ces trois parcs - Knott’s à Buena Park, Gilroy Gardens dans la capitale de l'ail de la côte Centrale, et California's Great America à Santa Clara, font tous partie de la chaîne Cedar Fair et proposent les mêmes programmes. Les visiteurs souffrant de problèmes de mobilité ou de TSA peuvent demander un « Ride Boarding Pass » au bureau des Services pour les hôtes près de l'entrée principale. Utilisez votre passe (que vous obtiendrez après avoir répondu à quelques questions) pour bénéficier d'horaires précis pour les manèges auprès du préposé à l'entrée alternative de n'importe quel manège (en général, au niveau de la sortie). Le passe est utilisable par le visiteur et jusqu'à quatre personnes qui l'accompagnent. Les guides d'aide aux visiteurs pour Knott’s, Gilroy Gardens et Great America dressent la liste des caractéristiques spécifiques de tous les manèges et attractions, et précisent quels manèges sont dotés de stroboscopes ou d'autres lumières susceptibles d'affecter une personne photosensible.

Universal Studios Hollywood

Ce parc de Los Angeles axé sur le cinéma propose différents types d'hébergements pour tous : son Centre familial dispose d'une pièce de détente, utile aux hôtes atteints de TSA qui ont besoin d'un peu de tranquillité, tandis que le bureau des relations avec les visiteurs peut vous prêter des appareils d'aide auditive ou des scripts rédigés en Braille ou en gros caractères. Appelez une semaine à l'avance pour bénéficier de services d'interprétation. Lisez le Guide des manèges pour obtenir des renseignements sur la vitesse, les sensations ou les effets spéciaux des manèges et des attractions, et prenez connaissance du Guide alimentaire pour connaître les lieux de restauration adaptés aux personnes allergiques au gluten, aux arachides ou au lactose.

Six Flags Magic Mountain, Valencia

Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Vallejo

Demandez un Passe d'accès aux attractions auprès des Services pour les hôtes à l'un des deux parcs d'attractions Six Flags de Californie, situés à Valencia, dans le comté de Los Angeles, et à Vallejo, à l'est de San Francisco. Le passe permet au visiteur et jusqu'à trois accompagnants de grimper à bord du manège de leur choix à des horaires définis, avec des intervalles entre chaque manège (le participant note l'heure chaque fois qu'un manège est terminé). Il vous faudra un justificatif médical, attestant d'une situation de handicap, pour bénéficier du Passe d'accès aux attractions. Dès que vous aurez récupéré le passe, vous n'aurez plus besoin de présenter le justificatif, quel que soit le parc Six Flags où vous irez : vos informations seront enregistrées dans le système global des parcs.

Demandez aux Relations avec les hôtes des appareils d'aide auditive pour les spectacles. Des interprètes américains en langue des signes sont disponibles sous réserve d'en faire la demande au moins sept jours à l'avance. Des assistants personnels accrédités peuvent accompagner gratuitement une personne en situation de handicap.

MUSÉES

Musées de Balboa Park, San Diego

Sept musées autour de Balboa Park, notamment le Museum of Us, le Musée d'art de San Diego et le Musée d'art photographique, proposent des histoires sociales qui peuvent être téléchargées à l'avance. Ces présentations visuelles des musées ont été créées par de jeunes adultes souffrant de TSA.

Deux des musées prisés des enfants dans ce parc de San Diego proposent également des journées spéciales pour les familles dont certains membres souffrent de TSA. Le Fleet Science Center organise des matinées d'accessibilité aux autistes le troisième samedi de chaque mois. À cette occasion, le musée ouvre tôt pour permettre une exploration dans le calme. Un espace de détente est mis en place et des projections IMAX spéciales à faible volume (et lumières allumées) sont organisées. Tout près, le Musée d'histoire naturelle de San Diego propose des matinées pour les personnes atteintes de TSA le deuxième samedi de chaque mois. L'entrée à cette occasion inclut une projection privée et sensorielle de « Ocean Oasis » dans le cinéma IMAX à écran géant, ainsi qu'un accès à une salle de repos de 9 heures à midi. Tous les jours dans ces deux musées, vous pouvez demander des appareils d'aide auditive pour les films IMAX du musée, ou des appareils de sous-titrage codé pour le Dome Theater du musée Fleet.

San Diego Children’s Discovery Museum, Escondido

Ce musée au nord du comté de San Diego propose des matinées sensorielles le premier dimanche du mois, de 9 heures à 10 heures, et chaque lundi de 8h30 à 9h30. Les visiteurs atteints d'autisme ou de sensibilité sensorielle peuvent se reposer dans des salles tranquilles et un espace de détente leur est réservé. Vous pouvez demander à l'accueil un casque à réduction de bruit, peu importe le jour de votre visite.

Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach

Plusieurs fois par an, ce gigantesque aquarium de Long Beach organise des soirées destinées aux autistes. À cette occasion, la plus grande partie de l'aquarium est accessible aux familles ayant des besoins particuliers, dans une atmosphère plus calme (moyennant un tarif très avantageux). Tout au long de l'année, demandez à l'accueil des visites audioguidées pour les malvoyants ou des appareils d'écoute pour les malentendants, ou consultez le calendrier pour découvrir les autres soirées consacrées aux visiteurs ayant des besoins particuliers, comme la Soirée du handicap.

MOXI Wolf Museum of Exploration & Innovation, Santa Barbara

Ce musée de Santa Barbara fait la part belle aux expositions interactives sur le thème des sciences, des technologies, de l'ingénierie, de l'art et des mathématiques. Il propose également une application gratuite et sensorielle, Access MOXI, créée pour que les visiteurs souffrant d'autisme et de troubles du traitement sensoriel puissent avoir un aperçu du musée. Vous pouvez également emprunter un kit sensoriel à l'accueil, qui comprend un casque à réduction de bruit, des toupies, des lunettes de soleil et des bracelets où vous pourrez indiquer votre numéro de téléphone au cas où votre enfant se perdrait.

Children’s Discovery Museum de San Jose

Ce musée pour enfants de la Silicon Valley organise des « Après-midi pour tous » le deuxième mardi du mois, à l'occasion desquels des activités spéciales sensorielles et de lecture sont animées. Consultez le calendrier pour connaître les séances du samedi dédiées à l'autisme, baptisées Play Your Way et conçues pour les enfants âgés de 2 à 15 ans. Tous les jours, consultez l'histoire sociale du musée, demandez un casque à réduction de bruit à l'accueil, et repérez la salle de détente au premier étage.

The Tech, San Jose

Ce musée de San Jose propose des heures sensorielles certaines soirées plusieurs fois par an. À cette occasion, la foule est réduite (le nombre d'entrées est limité), des salles de détente sont mises en place et les expositions et les projections IMAX sont bien éclairées (avec un volume sonore moins élevé). The Tech propose également d'autres journées à thème, comme les journées réservées aux filles pour les enfants de 7 à 14 ans.

Tulare County Museum, Visalia

Ce musée avant-gardiste de Mooney Grove Park met en valeur le passé agricole et le travail de la ferme dans le comté. En tant que partenaire de Visit Visalia, première organisation de ce type à obtenir la distinction de Centre certifié pour l'autisme, au moins 80 pour cent du personnel en contact avec le public est formé pour assister les visiteurs atteints d'autisme ou de besoins sensoriels particuliers. C'est également le cas d'un certain nombre d'hôtels, d'attractions et de services aux visiteurs de Visalia.

TERRAINS DE JEUX

Terrains de jeux accessibles à tous, Los Angeles

Le comté de Los Angeles compte 38 terrains de jeux adaptés aux familles ayant des besoins particuliers, qui ont été créés ou adaptés pour accueillir des enfants souffrant de toutes sortes de handicaps. C'est le cas notamment de Shane’s Inspiration à Griffith Park, qui est conçu pour accueillir les enfants souffrant d'autisme, de trisomie 21 et de paralysie cérébrale, et d'Aidan’s Place au Westwood Recreation Center, qui propose des installations comme un espace de création de châteaux de sable en hauteur.

Fairmount Carousel Playground, Riverside

Installé dans le parc urbain de Fairmount Park d'une centaine d'hectares (250 acres) à Riverside, ce terrain de jeux dispose d'équipements musicaux, d'une fontaine, d'un carrousel et de panneaux spéciaux qui font du bruit.

Tatum’s Garden, Salinas

Faites une halte dans cet espace de jeux de 1 860 m² (6 000 pieds carrés) à Salinas, une ville de la côte Centrale, qui a été inspiré par un jeune résident souffrant de spina bifida. Outre les nombreuses rampes d'accès pour fauteuils roulants, ce parc est jalonné de balançoires adaptatives et tapissé de caoutchouc absorbant.

Helen Diller Playground, San Francisco

Ouvert depuis 2012, ce terrain de jeu de Mission Dolores Park, à San Francisco, dispose de sentiers qui mènent à un toboggan long de près de 14 mètres (45 pieds) et à deux bateaux accessibles en fauteuil roulant.

Removed from Likes

English (US)English (US)

Popular Pages:

Visit California logo

Great California Attractions for Special Needs Families

Great California Attractions for Special Needs Families

These theme parks, museums and playgrounds offer perks and creature comforts for a wide range of abilities

Removed from Likes

Taking your crew on a family holiday can feel a little daunting under any circumstances, but when a member of your family has special needs you already know that having a fun trip calls for a little extra planning. Happily, family-friendly attractions in California cater well for guests with disabilities, from playgrounds that feature plenty of wheelchair ramps to theme parks that accommodate visitors with cognitive disabilities who might be affected by loud noises or long queues.

Before a trip, it’s always wise to check the accessibility section of an attraction’s website, which will detail any available facilities such as wheelchair hire, listening devices and special events, or policies regarding assistance animals. Sometimes you can even find deals: California state parks, for instance, offer a 50 percent discount for visitors with disabilities.

Many attractions now also offer 'social narratives' that help visitors with Autism Spectrum Disorder know what to expect on a visit such as the guide offered by The Broad, a crowd-pleasing contemporary art museum located in central Los Angeles, or the app made by Santa Barbara’s science-oriented MOXI Wolf Museum of Exploration & Innovation. 'From the beginning, we have tried hard to make sure our museum is inclusive and reflective of our community,' says MOXI’s director of education Ron Skinner. The app, he says, 'helps families better understand what a visit to MOXI might be like, so that they can make informed decisions about their visit.'

Here are 20-plus more attractions including theme parks, playgrounds, and museums that are especially proactive in welcoming families with special needs.

THEME PARKS

Sesame Place San Diego, Chula Vista

The Sesame Street–themed park in San Diego County offers a mix of all-ages water park fun, classic rides, and live entertainment. Start at the Guest Services Center to enroll in the Rider Accessibility Program, so that special needs guests and five family members can enjoy priority access to select rides. The Chula Vista attraction—located seven miles from downtown San Diego—is also a Certified Autism Center (CAC), meaning that staffers have completed autism sensitivity and awareness training. The park offers amenities such as a sensory guide, noise cancelling headphones, and designated quiet rooms. Download the Sesame Place Mobile App to further streamline your day: see the rides’ height requirements, purchase upgrades, and check schedules for shows and character meet-and-greets.

SeaWorld San Diego

Enroll in the Guest Accessibility program, at Guest Services by the main SeaWorld entrance, and you'll be given a 'RAP Sheet' (Ride Accessibility Program) that lets visitors book a specific time for rides and attractions, accompanied by up to five named people in their party. The online guide gives the physical minimum requirements for each ride for instance, that one must be able to grip a railing with at least one hand, etc. If you’d like an American sign language interpreter for shows and tours, contact Guest Services two weeks before the visit.

LEGOLAND California, Carlsbad

Playing with LEGO bricks has long been considered a good way for children on the spectrum (or those dealing with other issues) to develop social and communication skills and the LEGO celebrating park accommodates such visitors too. Ask for an Assisted Access Pass at Guest Services to get on rides (no documentation is needed): the pass allows the guest to board his or her first-choice ride with no wait, and then schedule times for other rides during the day. The park also has designated quiet areas and a downloadable guide for wheelchair access. Ask for a tag to use your pushchair as a wheelchair or you can hire wheelchairs and pushchairs near the main entrance. Send an email to experience@legoland.com at least two weeks ahead of your visit and the Carlsbad park can also arrange for American sign language interpreters for shows.

Disneyland Resort, Anaheim

The Orange County theme park mecca has a wide range of services for guests with mobility, vision, and cognitive disabilities. Start your visit at the Guest Relations Center where you can discuss any needs you might have during your stay. For instance, the resort’s Disability Access Service offers options such as setting up 'return times' for rides, scheduled one at a time using the park’s app or checking in with a Guest Relations kiosk. Before you go, download the Attraction Details for Guests with Cognitive Disabilities and the Special Dietary Requests Guide.

Knott’s Berry Farm, Buena Park

Gilroy Gardens, Gilroy

California’s Great America, Santa Clara

These three parks—Knott’s in Buena Park, Gilroy Gardens in the Central Coast's garlic capital, and California’s Great America in Santa Clara—are all part of the Cedar Fair chain and offer the same programs. Guests with mobility issues or ASD can request a Ride Boarding Pass at the Guest Services office near the front gates. Use your pass (obtained after answering just a few questions) to get scheduled boarding times from the attendant at any ride’s alternate entrance (usually the exit); the pass works for the guest and up to four companions. The Guest Assistance guides for Knott’sGilroy Gardens and Great America each list specific features of all rides and attractions, and detail which rides feature strobes or other lights that might affect anyone with photosensitivity.

Universal Studios Hollywood

The movie-themed park in Los Angeles makes a variety of accommodations for different situations: its Family Center has a quiet room helpful for ASD guests who are ready for some peace and quiet while the Guest Relations office can lend visitors assistive listening devices or Braille or large-font scripts; call a week ahead of your visit to arrange interpretation services. Check out the Rider’s Guide for a preview of the speed, sensations or special effects of the rides and attractions, and the Dietary Food Guide for dining options that are compatible with gluten-free, peanut-free or dairy-free diets.

Six Flags Magic Mountain, Valencia

Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Vallejo

Request an Attraction Access Pass at Guest Services at either of the two Six Flags theme parks in California, located in Los Angeles County’s Valencia and in Vallejo, east of San Francisco. The pass lets the guest and up to three companions board their chosen rides on a fairly set schedule, with set time intervals in between (at each ride, the attendant marks the time once the ride has been completed). You will need a doctor’s note attesting that there is some kind of disability, to receive an Attraction Access Pass, but once you have received a pass at any Six Flags park, you won’t need to present a note again—your information will be stored in the parks’ overall system.

Ask at Guest Relations about assisted listening devices for any shows; American Sign Language Interpreters are available if requested at least seven days in advance. Licensed Personal Assistants, meanwhile, can accompany their disabled visitor for free.

MUSEUMS

Balboa Park Museums, San Diego

Seven museums around Balboa Park, including the Museum of Us, the San Diego Museum of Art, and the Museum of Photographic Arts, offer Social Stories that you can download ahead of time; these visual previews to the museums were created by high-functioning young adults with ASD.

Two of the San Diego park’s most child-friendly museums also have special days for ASD families. The Fleet Science Center offers Autism Accessibility Mornings on the third Saturday of each month. On such days, the museum opens early for quieter explorations; has a designated cooling-off space; and features a special, lowered-volume (and lights-on) IMAX screening. Nearby, The San Diego Natural History Museum offers ASD mornings every second Saturday of every month. Admission on those days includes a private, sensory-friendly showing of 'Ocean Oasis' in the giant IMAX theatre, and access to a quiet room from 9 am to noon. Every day at the two museums you can request assistive listening devices for use with the museum’s IMAX films, or closed-captioning devices for the Fleet’s Dome Theater.

San Diego Children’s Discovery Museum, Escondido

This museum in San Diego’s North County town offers Sensory-Friendly Museum Mornings on the first Sunday of the month, from 9 am to 10 am, and then every Monday from 8.30 am to 9.30 am. Visitors on the spectrum or with sensory sensitivities can make use of quiet places and a designated break space. On any day, ask at the front desk for noise-cancelling headphones.

Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach

Every few months, this huge aquarium in Long Beach hosts an Autism Night when most of the aquarium is open for special needs families, offering a quieter atmosphere (and a nicely discounted admission price). Year-round, ask at the front desk for audio tours for the sight-impaired or listening devices for the hearing-impaired, or check the calendar for other special needs evenings such as Abilities Night.

MOXI Wolf Museum of Exploration & Innovation, Santa Barbara

This museum in Santa Barbara is lined with hands-on, STEAM-related exhibits (science, tech, engineering, arts and math). It also offers a free, sensory-friendly app, Access MOXI, created so that visitors with autism and sensory-processing disorders can preview the museum. Or, borrow a sensory backpack kit from the front desk which includes noise-reduction headphones, fidget toys, sunglasses and 'if lost please call' wristbands.

Children’s Discovery Museum of San Jose

This children's museum in Silicon Valley hosts Afternoons for All Abilities on the second Tuesday of the month, featuring a special story time and sensory activity. Check the calendar for autism-friendly Saturday sessions called Play Your Way for ages 2–15. Every day, check out the museum’s Social Story, ask for sound-reducing headsets at Admissions and take note of the Quiet Room on the first floor.

The Tech, San Jose

The San Jose museum offers Sensory Friendly Hours on specific evenings every few months. That means a lower capacity for admissions, resulting in fewer crowds; quiet rooms; and well-lit (and lowered volume) exhibitions and IMAX screenings. The Tech also offers a variety of other themed days, too, such as Girls Days for girls aged 7–14.

Tulare County Museum, Visalia

This state-of-the-art museum in Mooney Grove Park serves to highlight the county’s agricultural and farm-labor past. As a partner of Visit Visalia, the first organization of its kind to earn the distinction of Certified Autism Center, at least 80 percent of the public-facing staff at the museum is trained to serve visitors with autism or sensory needs. The same is true of a number of Visalia hotels, attractions, and visitors’ services.

PLAYGROUNDS

Universally Accessible Playgrounds, Los Angeles

Los Angeles County has 38 special-needs-friendly playgrounds, which were either created or adapted to accommodate children of all abilities. Some notable ones include Shane’s Inspiration in Griffith Park, designed to welcome children with Autism, Down Syndrome and Cerebral Palsy, and Aidan’s Place at Westwood Recreation Center and offers adaptations including an elevated sand-castle-building station.

Fairmount Carousel Playground, Riverside

Set inside Riverside’s 250-acre Fairmount Park, this merry-go-round-themed playground has musical equipment, a splash pad, a carousel and special noise-making panels.

Tatum’s Garden, Salinas

Stop at the 6,000-square-foot play space in the Central Coast town of Salinas that was inspired by a young resident with spina bifida. It’s lined with wheelchair-friendly ramps, dotted with adapted swings and covered with cushioning rubber.

Helen Diller Playground, San Francisco

Open since 2012, this playground in San Francisco’s Mission Dolores Park has accessible pathways that lead to a 45-foot-long slide and two wheelchair-friendly play boats.

Removed from Likes

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up and get weekly travel inspiration and ideas

Subscribe to our Newsletter