function OptanonWrapper() { window.dataLayer.push( { event: 'OneTrustGroupsUpdated'} )}Craft Beer Road Trip
Mehr
Craft Beer Road Trip

Craft Beer Road Trip

Kosten Sie sich den Hops Highway entlang – von den nach Kiefern duftenden Bergen außerhalb von San Diego bis zur Meeresbrise des Orange County.

Start:Alpine Beer Company
Ziel:Beachwood BBQ
2 - 3Tage,9Stopps,Meilen
Alpine Beer Company
Cavan Images/Getty Images
Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Art Wager/Getty Images
Pariah Brewing Company
Waclaw Mostowski/Getty Images
The Kettle Room
Ullstein Bild/Getty Images
Stone Brewing
Dave Lauridsen
Bagby Beer Company Oceanside
Ryan Donnell
Craft Brew Tours Anaheim
Andrew Smith/Getty Images
Beachwood BBQ
Rez Art/Getty Images
Stopp 1

Alpine Beer Company

1347 Tavern Rd, Alpine

Begeben Sie sich ins „Home of Pure Hoppiness“ in der malerischen Gebirgsstadt Alpine im östlichen San Diego County, um einige der leckeren Craft Beers zu kosten. Berühmt wurde die Alpine Beer Company zwar durch hopfenlastige Biere, ihre Bierbrauer brauen in kleinen Auflagen aber auch andere Biere, die Sie nur hier bei der Verkostung finden. Genehmigen Sie sich beim Sonnetanken auf der Terrasse das viel gerühmte Keene Idea Double IPA (India Pale Ale) oder das beliebte Hoppy Birthday Session IPA. Schlendern Sie dann die Straße entlang zum Alpine Beer Company Pub und genießen Sie zu Mittag ein holzgeräuchertes Barbeque, das Sie mit Ihrem neuen Lieblings-Ale runterspülen.

Ihre Reise planen

    Stopp 2

    Karl Strauss Brewing Company

    1157 Columbia St, San Diego

    Die nach einem wegweisenden Meisterbrauer benannte Karl Strauss Brewing Company gilt allgemein als die Brauerei, die die inzwischen florierende unabhängige Brauereiszene in Gang gebracht hat. Die Brauerei war bei ihrer Eröffnung 1989 die erste Brauerei der Stadt seit der Prohibition. Die Idee dafür hatten zwei Studienfreunde an einem Rettungsschwimmerturm in Mission Beach. Es gibt inzwischen sieben Karl-Strauss-Locations in San Diego County, die von belebten Restaurants bis zu einem Verkostungsraum und Biergarten reichen. Erheben Sie Ihr Pint und trinken Sie auf den Ort, an dem der Craft-Beer-Boom von San Diego begann – mit einem Tower 10 IPA oder vielleicht mit dem goldmedaillengekrönten Red Trolly Ale.

    Ihre Reise planen

      Stopp 3

      Pariah Brewing Company

      3052 El Cajon Blvd suite b, San Diego

      In North Park, San Diego – einem Gebiet, das für seine kühle, kreative Atmosphäre bekannt ist – passt die Pariah Brewing Company perfekt in die Gemeinschaft unabhängiger Denker. Seit ihrer Eröffnung im Jahr 2017 zieht die Brauerei mit ihren einzigartigen Bieren, die es in allen möglichen Geschmacksnoten gibt – von einfachen Noten (lokal gerösteter Kaffee) bis hin zu ungewöhnlichen Kreationen (Kiwi und grüner Tee). Der Gründer und Braumeister Brian Mitchell ist stolz darauf, den Status quo immer wieder in Frage zu stellen, und die Strategie scheint zu funktionieren – 2017 wurde Pariah vom San Diego Magazine als eine der 10 besten Newcomer-Brauereien bezeichnet. Gönnen Sie sich einen Off White Wit an der Verkostungsbar, ein belgisches Witbier, gebraut mit Orangenblütenhonig, Jasmin-Grüntee, frischem Zitronengras, getrockneten Orangenscheiben und frischem Ingwer.

      Ihre Reise planen

        Stopp 4

        The Kettle Room

        1725, 2215 India St, San Diego

        Der nur auf Reservierung besuchbare Verkostungsraum wird von einer der erfolgreichsten und berühmtesten Brauereien San Diegos, Ballast Point, betrieben und wartet mit hausgebrauten Innovationen auf. Im Little Italy-Brauraum von Ballast Point liegt The Kettle Room und hat noch mehr zu bieten als bloß ein persönliches Verkostungserlebnis für Gruppen. Sie kommen in den Genuss eines Gourmet-Menüs (das feste Menü wechselt ständig, damit stets die frischesten Zutaten zu Einsatz kommen) und die perfekt auf jeden Gang abgestimmten Ballast Point-Gebräue. Sammeln Sie die Craft Beer-Liebhaber unter Ihren Freunden und machen Sie sich bereit für eine Bier-Paarung der nächsten Stufe. (Reservierungen sind freitag- und samstagabends verfügbar)

        Ihre Reise planen

          Stopp 6

          Stone Brewing

          1999 Citracado Parkway, Escondido

          Eine der ältesten Craft Beer-Brauereien in San Diego mit eingefleischten Fans auf der ganzen Welt bleibt einer ihrer größten Stars. In der großen Brauereianlage von Stone Brewing in Escondido befindet sich auch das Bistro Stone Brewing World Bistro & Gardens, das 2017 von RateBeer Best zum „Besten Ort für Bier in den Vereinigten Staaten“ ernannt wurde. Sehen Sie sich auf einer Brauereitour an, wo die Magie passiert, und erkunden Sie anschließend die blühenden Gärten, in denen es auch Wasserfälle und viel Platz zum Herumlaufen für die Kinder gibt. Nehmen Sie Platz an einem der Tische auf der großen Außenterrasse und bestellen Sie die Stone Steak Tacos, die mit dem Stone‘s Arrogant Bastard Ale ein perfektes Duo bilden.

          Ihre Reise planen

            Stopp 7

            Bagby Beer Company Oceanside

            601 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside

            Diese fröhliche, bei den Einheimischen beliebte Brauerei liegt in Oceanside nur ein paar Häuserblöcke vom Pazifik entfernt und hat eine beeindruckend große und abwechslungsreiche Bierauswahl vorzuweisen. Zusätzlich zu den beinah 20 Bieren von Bagby, nach amerikanischer bis belgischer Art, umfasst die Liste an Bieren aus anderen Brauereien mehr als 40 weitere Optionen. Machen Sie sich direkt auf zu den Picknicktischen auf dem Dach und bestellen Sie sich das besondere Angebot des Hauses – ein Bagby Worker Bee, ein American Golden Ale mit einem Hauch von Honig im Geschmack und dazu die Fisch-Tacos mit in Bierteig ausgebackenem Fang des Tages. Der Blick auf aufregende Sonnenuntergänge ist nur das Sahnehäubchen.

            Ihre Reise planen

              Stopp 8

              Craft Brew Tours Anaheim

              200 S Anaheim Blvd, Anaheim

              Erkunden Sie auf einer 4,5-stündigen Tour die pulsierende Micro-Brewing-Szene von North Orange County. Ihre Gruppe wird in einem Limousinenbus zu drei verschiedenen Brauereien in der Gegend von Orange County, Anaheim und Fullerton gebracht, wo Sie 45 Minuten lang hinter die Kulissen schauen und hausgebrautes Bier kosten können. Die bierkundigen Reiseleiter von Craft Brew Tours Anaheim übernehmen die gesamte Logistik, wie z. B. das Verteilen von nicht alkoholischen Getränken zwischen den Verkostungen und die Organisation des Mittagessens am Ende. Wenn Sie noch weiteres Craft Beer von Anaheim kennenlernen möchten, starten Sie auf der Golden Road, die für ihre innovativen Biere und ihre lebendige Bierszene bekannt ist.

              Ihre Reise planen

                SPOTLIGHT

                Beachwood BBQ

                210 E 3rd St, Long Beach

                Es ist schwierig zu sagen, wofür Beachwood am bekanntesten ist — Bier oder Barbecue. Wenn Sie beides mögen, dann sind Sie in diesem Lokal am Seal Beach genau richtig. Schauen Sie direkt über die „Hop Cam“ auf der Website des Beachwood nach, was zur Zeit aus den 22, mit immer wieder anderen Bieren belegten, Zapfhähnen fließt.

                Roadtrip-Schnappschuss

                Erfahren Sie mehr über die unglaublichen Orte, die zu diesem Roadtrip gehören. Bereit, Ihre Reise zu planen? Drucken Sie den Reiseplan aus oder sehen Sie sich Ihr Abenteuer auf der Karte an, um loszulegen.

                Stopp 1Alpine Beer Company
                1347 Tavern Rd, Alpine
                  Stopp 2Karl Strauss Brewing Company
                  1157 Columbia St, San Diego
                    Stopp 3Pariah Brewing Company
                    3052 El Cajon Blvd suite b, San Diego
                      Stopp 4The Kettle Room
                      1725, 2215 India St, San Diego
                        SPOTLIGHTHotel Palomar San Diego
                        1047 Fifth Ave, San Diego
                          Stopp 7Bagby Beer Company Oceanside
                          601 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside
                            Stopp 8Craft Brew Tours Anaheim
                            200 S Anaheim Blvd, Anaheim

Ryan Donnell

Craft Beer Road Trip

Taste your way from the pine-scented mountains outside San Diego, along the Hops Highway, all the way to the ocean breezes of Orange County.

Start:Alpine Beer Company
End:Beachwood BBQ
2 - 3Days,9Stops,95Miles
Alpine Beer Company
Cavan Images/Getty Images
Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Art Wager/Getty Images
Pariah Brewing Company
Waclaw Mostowski/Getty Images
The Kettle Room
Ullstein Bild/Getty Images
Hotel Palomar San Diego
Stone Brewing
Dave Lauridsen
Bagby Beer Company Oceanside
Ryan Donnell
Craft Brew Tours Anaheim
Andrew Smith/Getty Images
Beachwood BBQ
Rez Art/Getty Images
Stop 1

Alpine Beer Company

1347 Tavern Rd, Alpine

Head to the “Home of Pure Hoppiness” in the quaint mountain town of Alpine in east San Diego County to sample some tasty craft brews. While the hops-forward beers have made the Alpine Beer Company famous, its beermakers also produce small-batch brews you’ll only find at the tasting room. Sit out on the patio and soak up the sun as you sip the much-celebrated Keene Idea double IPA or the popular Hoppy Birthday session IPA. Then walk down to the street to the Alpine Beer Company Pub for a wood-smoked barbeque lunch, washed down with your new favorite ale.

Plan your visit

Stop 2

Karl Strauss Brewing Company

1157 Columbia St, San Diego

Named after a pioneering master brewer, Karl Strauss Brewing Company is credited with kickstarting San Diego’s now-flourishing independent brewing scene. It was the city’s first brewery since Prohibition when it opened in 1989, an idea hatched by two college buddies at a lifeguard tower in Mission Beach. There are now seven Karl Strauss locations around San Diego County, ranging from lively restaurants to a tasting room and beer garden. Raise a pint and toast to where San Diego’s craft beer boom began with a Tower 10 IPA or try the gold-medal-winning Red Trolley Ale.

Stop 3

Pariah Brewing Company

3052 El Cajon Blvd suite b, San Diego

Located in San Diego’s North Park neighborhood—an area known for its cool, creative vibe—Pariah Brewing Company is a natural fit in a community full of independent thinkers. Since opening in 2017, the brewery has been attracting attention for its unique beers, flavored with everything from the simple (locally roasted coffee) to the more unusual (kiwi and green tea). Founder and brewmaster Brian Mitchell takes pride in challenging the status quo, and the strategy seems to be working—in 2017 Pariah was named one of the 10 best new breweries by San Diego Magazine. Belly up to the tasting bar for an Off White Wit, a Belgian-style Witbier brewed with orange blossom honey, Jasmine green tea, fresh lemongrass, dried orange slices, and fresh ginger.

Plan your visit

Stop 4

The Kettle Room

1725, 2215 India St, San Diego

Operated by one of the most prolific and famous San Diego breweries, Ballast Point, this reservations-only tasting room showcases small-batch innovation. Housed inside Ballast Point’s Little Italy brewing space, The Kettle Room offers much more than an intimate group tasting experience. You’ll sit down for a gourmet meal (the fixed menu is ever-changing to include the freshest ingredients) and savor Ballast Point pours suited perfectly to each dish. Rally your craft-beer-loving buddies and get ready for next-level beer pairing. (Reservations available Friday and Saturday evenings.)

Plan your visit

Stop 6

Stone Brewing

1999 Citracado Parkway, Escondido

One of San Diego’s oldest craft breweries remains one of its brightest stars, with die-hard fans the world over. Stone Brewing’s massive brewing complex in Escondido is also home to Stone Brewing World Bistro & Gardens, named by RateBeer Best in 2017 as “The Best Place for Beer in the United States.” See how the magic is made on a brewery tour then explore the lush gardens, which include waterfalls and plenty of space for the kids to roam. Grab a table on the large outdoor patio and order the Stone Steak Tacos, which pair to perfection with Stone’s Arrogant Bastard Ale.

Plan your visit

Stop 7

Bagby Beer Company Oceanside

601 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside

This cheery, locals’ favorite brewery just blocks from the Pacific in Oceanside boasts an impressively long and varied beer list. In addition to the nearly 20 Bagby beers, which range in style from American to Belgian, the guest draft list includes more than 40 options. Beeline to the rooftop deck picnic tables and order the house favorite Bagby Worker Bee, an American Golden Ale with a trace flavor of local honey, and the beer-battered fish tacos featuring the local catch. The prismatic sunset views are just a bonus.

Plan your visit

Stop 8

Craft Brew Tours Anaheim

200 S Anaheim Blvd, Anaheim

Explore North Orange County’s buzzing micro-brewing scene during a 4.5-hour tour. Your group will be shuttled in a limo bus to three different breweries around the Orange, Anaheim, and Fullerton areas, where you’ll spend 45 minutes getting a behind-the-scenes tour and sampling small-batch suds. Craft Brew Tours Anaheim beer-savvy guides handle all the logistics, like keeping you hydrated between tastings and arranging for lunch at the end. If you want to explore even more of Anaheim’s craft beer offerings, start at Golden Road, known for their hop-forward beers and lively patio scene.

SPOTLIGHT

Beachwood BBQ

210 E 3rd St, Long Beach

It’s hard to say what Beachwood is best known for—the beer or the barbecue. If you like both, you’re in for a real treat at this Seal Beach establishment. Check the “Hop Cam” on the Beachwood website to view what’s currently pouring from the 22 rotating taps.

#ROADTRIPCALIFORNIA

Tag #ROADTRIPCALIFORNIA on Instagram to have your trip featured on our page.

Road Trip Snapshot

Learn more about the amazing locations featured in this road trip. Ready to plan your trip? Print the itinerary or map your adventure to get started.

STOP 1Alpine Beer Company
1347 Tavern Rd, Alpine
STOP 2Karl Strauss Brewing Company
1157 Columbia St, San Diego
STOP 3Pariah Brewing Company
3052 El Cajon Blvd suite b, San Diego
STOP 4The Kettle Room
1725, 2215 India St, San Diego
SPOTLIGHTHotel Palomar San Diego
1047 Fifth Ave, San Diego
    STOP 6Stone Brewing
    1999 Citracado Parkway, Escondido
    STOP 7Bagby Beer Company Oceanside
    601 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside
    STOP 8Craft Brew Tours Anaheim
    200 S Anaheim Blvd, Anaheim

    Car & RV Rentals

    Trusted car & RV rental companies make your trip much easier

    Advantage
    Alamo
    Avis
    Budget
    Cruise
    Dollar
    El Monte
    Enterprise
    EZ Rent a car
    Firefly
    Fox
    Hertz
    Midway
    National
    Silver Car
    Sixt
    Thrifty
    United

    More to Explore