French (FR)French (FR)

Pages populaires :

Visit California logo

Guide de A à Z : La culture du surf en Californie | Visit California

Guide de A à Z : La culture du surf en Californie

Considérez ceci comme votre introduction au sport officiel de Californie, célébré le jour du California Surfing Day, le 20 septembre

Removed from Likes

La Californie est une destination de surf incomparable. C'est ici que le surf a évolué, passant d'une ancienne tradition hawaïenne à une véritable culture qui a influencé la musique, la mode et le cinéma. Dès l'instant où le surf est arrivé en Amérique du Nord (à Santa Cruz en 1885), il a séduit les plus aventureux et a fini par se transformer en un mode de vie populaire. Il est facile de comprendre son attrait. Parce que, soyons francs : comment trouver une activité plus cool que le surf ? Vous pourriez passer toute une vie à découvrir le surf en Californie. (Le 20 septembre est la journée parfaite pour visiter la Californie : c'est le California Surfing Day.) En attendant, voici une brève présentation du sport par excellence - et officiel - de l'État de Californie.

A comme Aerial

L'aerial est une acrobatie qui fascine les foules, au cours de laquelle le surfeur décolle sur la crête d'une vague, avant de retomber sur la face de la vague, dans l'idéal après avoir exécuté des vrilles ou des sauts périlleux. Cette technique a été inspirée par l'ollies, une acrobatie familière des pratiquants du skateboard.

B comme Bikinis et Boardshorts

Plus longs que les shorts classiques pour vous protéger des rails de la planche de surf, les shorts de bain sont pratiques et à la mode. Pour une version classique, rendez-vous à Huntington Beach, chez Katin USA. Les bikinis traditionnels ne permettent pas d'affronter correctement les vagues. En revanche, les matériaux moulants des bikinis de surf ne risquent pas de glisser.

C comme California Surf Museum

Suffisamment proche de la plage d'Oceanside pour permettre d'entendre le bruit des vagues, le California Surf Museum, avec son toit en forme de vague, présente la planche (avec l'entaille imposante de la morsure) que Bethany Hamilton utilisait le jour où elle fut attaquée par un requin. Une exposition présente l'évolution de la conception des planches, depuis les deadnought en bois massif qui pesaient 50 kilos jusqu'aux planches courtes modernes et légères en fibre de verre que l'on utilise aujourd'hui.

D comme Divas

Les « dudes » sont inséparables des divas : Twins Izzy et Coco Tihanyi ont ouvert la Surf Diva Surf School en 1996 pour ouvrir le surf à davantage de femmes. Accessible aux hommes comme aux femmes, le Surf Diva propose des cours et des locations à La Jolla Shores et Del Mar, et gère également une boutique de surf à quelques pas de La Jolla Shores.

E comme Encinitas

Sur l'étendue de la route côtière de San Diego surnommée « Surf Route 101 » dans la chanson des Super Stocks composée en 1964, Encinitas abrite la fameuse plage de Swami’s. Elle doit son surnom mystique à Paramahansa Yogananda, le gourou indien qui fonda le Self-Realization Fellowship Encinitas Temple, une retraite spirituelle au sommet des falaises remarquable par ses jardins.

F comme Fish Tacos

Les tacos au poisson sont le plat original de la cuisine mexicano-californienne. De nombreux surfeurs ont découvert les tacos au poisson à Ensenada et San Felipe en cherchant les meilleures vagues de Baja. Même s'il en existe aujourd'hui d'infinies variations, le taco au poisson d'origine se compose d'un poisson blanc frit dans une pâte légère de style tempura et servi sur deux tortillas au maïs, avec du chou râpé, une sauce à base de crème fraîche et de la salsa. Un filet de citron vert est fortement recommandé.

G comme Gidget

Avant la Gidget du cinéma (Sandra Dee) et la Gidget des émissions de télévision (Sally Field), il y a eu Kathy Kohner, la Gidget de la vraie vie. En 1957, les récits de journées sur les plages de Malibu inspirèrent à son père, Frederick Kohner, un scénariste nommé aux Oscars, l'écriture d'un roman au sujet des aventures de sa fille qui contribua à lancer la folie du surf. Faites une halte chez Duke’s of Malibu, où Kathy est l'« ambassadrice d'aloha » pour le restaurant.

H comme Hôtels

Autrefois, si vous vouliez rester à proximité des vagues, vous deviez dormir directement sur la plage. Aujourd'hui, plus besoin de vivre à la dure, avec tous les hôtels californiens centrés sur le surf comme le Tower23 à Pacific Beach à San Diego, le Surfhouse à Encinitas, le Surf & Sand Laguna Beach, le Kimpton Shorebreak Huntington Beach Resort et le Dream Inn sur Cowell’s Beach à Santa Cruz.

I comme International Surfing Museum

Les légendes du surf comme George Freeth et Duke Kahanamoku ont contribué à l'implantation du sport à Huntington Beach. L'International Surfing Museum rend hommage à ces légendes en exposant certaines de leurs planches, tandis qu'à l'extérieur, une véritable planche longue - mesurant 13 mètres de long pour un poids de 590 kilos et sur laquelle 66 personnes parvinrent à surfer simultanément, offre un cadre parfait pour des selfies.

J comme Jack O’Neill

Le surfeur et entrepreneur aujourd'hui décédé est généralement considéré comme l'inventeur de la combinaison en néoprène (même si d'autres cherchent à s'approprier cet honneur). Avant de s'installer à Santa Cruz en 1952, O'Neill avait également ouvert ce qui est considéré comme le tout premier magasin de surf au monde à San Francisco. L'O’Neill Surf Shop à Capitola présente des planches vintage et l'une de ses toutes premières combinaisons.

K comme Kelly Slater

Considéré comme le GOAT (Greatest of all Time, meilleur de tous les temps), Kelly Slater a contribué à inventer une machine qui génère une vague « parfaite » au WSL Surf Ranch, dans la petite ville de Lemoore dans la Vallée centrale, près des villes de Visalia et Fresno, au pied des contreforts de la Sierra Nevada.

L comme Laguna Beach

De Brooks Street à Rockpile et jusqu'à Thalia Street, Laguna Beach offre un large éventail d'options de surf. Si vous débutez, dirigez-vous plutôt vers Thalia Street, où les vagues sont abordables. Si vous préférez rester spectateur, optez pour Rockpile pour vous émerveiller devant sa vague parfaite et très difficile à négocier.

M comme Mollusk Surf Shop

Avec des magasins à San Francisco, Silver Lake et Venice Beach, le Mollusk Surf Shop franchit le fossé entre ces régions en célébrant la culture du surf et en proposant un large assortiment de planches, que vous vouliez vous attaquer à une vague monstrueuse ou simplement glisser longuement en douceur sur une vague paisible.

N comme Noseriding

Cette manœuvre artistique consiste à surfer sur le bord avant de la planche. Considéré comme l'une des disciplines classiques du surf, il gagne en popularité et des compétitions lui sont entièrement consacrées. Le Hanging Ten est la variante la plus célèbre. Elle est généralement réalisée sur des longboards et sur de petites vagues.

O comme Outerknown

Co-fondé par l'illustre Kelly Slater, la marque Outerknown, basée à Culver City, allie le style du surf et la durabilité. Cette marque avant-gardiste cherche non seulement à protéger l'environnement, mais aussi les employés qui fabriquent ses vêtements. Entre autres méthodes écologiques, Outerknown utilise l'Econyl, une fibre de nylon fabriquée à partir d'anciens filets de pêche, dans ses shorts de surf.

P comme Point Break

Si un film peut être qualifié à la fois de meilleur et de pire film de surf de l'histoire, c'est bien Point Break. Keanu Reeves y interprète le rôle d'un ancien footballeur universitaire devenu l'agent du FBI infiltré, Johnny Utah, aux côtés de Patrick Swayze, dans le rôle de Bodhi, un mystique du surf à la tête d'une bande de braqueurs de banques. Vous n'oublierez pas cette réplique immortelle : « J'ai chopé une déferlante d'enfer ce matin, chef ! »

Q comme Quiksilver

À partir de débuts modestes en Australie, la marque Quiksilver basée à Huntington Beach est devenue un géant du surf, créateur de la marque dérivée Roxy et parraine des compétitions de la World Surf League. La marque vit selon ce credo : « Nous pensons que le surf est une source universelle de plaisir, de liberté et d'énergie naturelle, si puissante qu'elle transforme les vies. »

R comme Rincon

Il faut une vague bien particulière pour obtenir le titre de « Reine de la côte ». En fait, ce spot particulier à la frontière des comtés de Santa Barbara et de Ventura produit l'une des meilleures vagues du pays pendant sa haute saison d'hiver. L'auteur William Finnegan rejeta le terme de « Reine », préférant décrire Rincon comme « ... la meilleure vague de Californie, longue et creuse, d'une qualité exceptionnelle en hiver ». Dans la ville voisine de Carpinteria, vous trouverez des modèles de planche et des équipements de la marque Rincon chez Rincon Designs Surf Shop, même si vous vous contentez d'admirer la vague depuis la plage.

S comme Santa Cruz

Considérée comme le berceau du surf sur le continent en raison d'une journée de 1885 où un trio de princes hawaïens fabriqua des planches en bois de séquoia, Santa Cruz reste une capitale majeure du surf américain. Pour admirer les surfeurs, rien ne vaut l'amphithéâtre naturel qui surplombe Steamer Lane. Niché dans un phare à la pointe de Steamer, le Santa Cruz Surfing Museum rend hommage à ce patrimoine local.

T comme Tarantulas à Jalama Beach County Park

Aucune plage n'est plus éloignée de la Highway 1, mais de nombreux surfeurs font le détour de 22,5 km dans le comté de Santa Barbara lorsque la houle du sud-sud-ouest casse les vagues au niveau du point appelé Tarantulas. Et bon nombre de ces surfeurs prennent des forces pour leurs sessions en dégustant les Jalama Burgers emblématiques de Californie.

U comme U.S. Open de surf

La plus grande compétition de surf au monde, sur la jetée de Huntington Beach, est une célébration d'une semaine centrée autour du surf et d'autres disciplines, avec des concerts, des expositions d'art et des démonstrations de skateboard et de BMX, toutes ouvertes gratuitement au public.

V comme Venice

Non loin de l'étrange bazar qu'est la promenade de Venice Beach, les journées d'hiver lorsque la houle vient de l'ouest-nord-ouest, vous trouverez des vagues d'une qualité étonnante à Breakwater, le meilleur spot de Venice. Les surfeurs sérieux devraient aller découvrir les planches fabriquées par le maître concepteur de Venice, Guy Okazaki.

W comme The Wedge

Le terme méchant est loin d'être suffisant pour décrire le déchaînement qui se produit à Newport Beach lorsqu'en été, les vagues du sud atteignent la jetée à la pointe de la péninsule de Balboa, produisant le monstre de Frankenstein : la vague que l'on appelle The Wedge. Spot de classe mondiale pour le bodysurf et le bodyboard, les vagues de The Wedge peuvent atteindre 9 mètres. C'est dangereux pour les débutants, mais un spectacle unique depuis la plage.

X comme X Games

Le surf a fait son apparition aux X Games en 2003, avec une compétition organisée à Huntington Beach. Le surf est désormais un sport olympique après son apparition aux Jeux de 2020 à Tokyo, au Japon. Italo Ferreira et Carissa Moore furent les premiers médaillés d'or de la discipline.

Y comme You Should Have Been Here an Hour Ago (Tu aurais dû être là il y a une heure)

La littérature du surf s'est fait connaître lorsque William Finnegan remporta un prix Pulitzer en 2016 pour son livre, Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life. L'un de ses classiques précédents, You Should Have Been Here an Hour Ago, est l'autobiographie de Phil Edwards, originaire d'Oceanside et surnommé « l'un des 25 surfeurs les plus influents du siècle » en 1999 par le magazine Surfer

Z comme oxyde de Zinc

Bien avant les crèmes protectrices d'indice 100+, les surfeurs faisaient confiance à l'oxyde de zinc pour se protéger du soleil. Même si la protection contre les effets des rayons UV est importante pour quiconque passe beaucoup de temps dans l'eau, les crèmes solaires à base de produits chimiques sont nuisibles pour les récifs coralliens. Les protections à base minérale ne sont pas parfaites, mais préférables. Recherchez également des protections solaires identifiées comme de taille micro ou non-nano afin de réduire encore l'impact sur l'environnement marin.

Removed from Likes

Photos de voyageurs

Utilisez #VISITCALIFORNIA sur Instagram pour que votre voyage soit présenté sur notre page.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up and get weekly travel inspiration and ideas

Subscribe to our Newsletter

English (US)
Visit California logo

An A to Z Guide: California Surf Culture

Let this be your introduction to the Golden State’s official sport, which is celebrated on California Surfing Day Sept. 20

Removed from Likes
Posted a month ago

California is a surf destination like no other. It was here that surfing evolved from an ancient Hawaiian tradition to a cultural colossus that influenced music, fashion, and films. From the moment surfing first arrived in North America—in Santa Cruz in 1885—it struck a chord with adventurous sorts and eventually evolved into a popular lifestyle. It’s easy to understand the allure. Because, let’s face it: What’s cooler than surfing? You could spend a lifetime experiencing California surfing. (One perfect day to visit the Golden State is on Sept. 20 for California Surfing Day.) Meanwhile, here’s a quick introduction to California’s quintessential—and official—state sport.

A is for Aerial

The crowd-pleasing aerial is a maneuver during which the surfer lifts off from a wave crest, goes airborne, then returns to the wave face, ideally after executing spins or flips. They were inspired by ollies, a familiar skateboarding move.

B is for Bikinis and Boardshorts

Longer in length to protect against surfboard rails, boardshorts are functional and fashionable. For a classic version, try Huntington Beach–based Katin USA. Traditional bikinis aren’t suited for wave action, but surf bikinis employ form-fitting materials to guard against slippage.

C is for California Surf Museum

Close enough to Oceanside’s beach to hear the surf, the California Surf Museum, with its wave-shaped roofline, displays the board (complete with massive bite gouge) that Bethany Hamilton was riding when she was attacked by a shark. There’s also an exhibit tracing the evolution of board design—from 100-pound solid wood dreadnoughts to today’s light-weight fiberglass shortboards.

D is for Divas

Along with the dudes there are divas: Twins Izzy and Coco Tihanyi launched Surf Diva Surf School in 1996 to introduce more women to wave riding. Open to both men and women, Surf Diva offers lessons and rentals at La Jolla Shores and Del Mar, and also operates a surf boutique just steps from La Jolla Shores.

E is for Encinitas

On the stretch of the San Diego coastal highway dubbed “Surf Route 101” in the 1964 song by The Super Stocks, Encinitas is the home of the fabled point break Swami’s. It gets its mystical moniker from Paramahansa Yogananda, the Indian guru who created the Self-Realization Fellowship Encinitas Temple, a spiritual retreat atop the bluffs that’s notable for its gardens.

F is for Fish Tacos

It’s the original Cali-Baja cuisine. Many surfers discovered fish tacos in Ensenada and San Felipe during wave-seeking quests in Baja. While there are now endless variations, the original fish taco consists of a white fish fried in a light, tempura-style batter and served on a pair of corn tortillas, with shredded cabbage, a sour cream-based sauce, and salsa. Spray of lime highly recommended.

G is for Gidget

Before the movie Gidget (Sandra Dee) and the television show Gidget (Sally Field), there was Kathy Kohner—the real-life Gidget. Tales of days on Malibu’s beaches inspired her father Frederick Kohner, an Academy Award–nominated screenwriter, to write the 1957 novel about his daughter’s adventures that helped launch the surfing craze. Stop into Duke’s of Malibu, where Kathy serves as the restaurant’s “ambassador of aloha.”

H is for Hotels

In the old days if you wanted to stay close to the waves, you just slept right on the beach. These days there’s no need to rough it, not with such stylish surf-centric California hotels as Tower23 at Pacific Beach in San Diego, Surfhouse in Encinitas, Surf & Sand Laguna Beach, the Kimpton Shorebreak Huntington Beach Resort, and the Dream Inn on Cowell’s Beach in Santa Cruz.

I is for International Surfing Museum

Surfing legends George Freeth and Duke Kahanamoku helped introduce the sport to Huntington Beach. The International Surfing Museum honors these icons with displays of their boards, while outside a true longboard—42 feet in length, 1,300 pounds, and once surfed by 66 people simultaneously—just begs for selfies.

J is for Jack O’Neill

The late surfer and entrepreneur is generally considered the inventor of the neoprene wetsuit (though others claim the honor). Before moving to Santa Cruz in 1952, O’Neill also opened what is believed to be the world’s first surf shop in San Francisco. The O’Neill Surf Shop in Capitola displays vintage boards and one of his earliest wetsuits.

K is for Kelly Slater

Considered surfing’s GOAT (Greatest of all Time), Kelly Slater helped invent a machine that generates a “perfect” wave at the WSL Surf Ranch in the Central Valley town of Lemoore, near the Sierra Nevada foothill cities of Visalia and Fresno.

L is for Laguna Beach

From Brooks Street to Rockpile to Thalia Street, Laguna Beach offers a wide variety of surfing options. If you’re just starting out, consider Thalia Street, which features approachable waves. If you want to watch and gawk, head to Rockpile and marvel at its perfect—and quite challenging—break.

M is for Mollusk Surf Shop

With stores in San Francisco, Silver Lake, and Venice Beach, the Mollusk Surf Shop bridges the chasm between these regions by celebrating surf culture and offering a big selection of boards, whether you’re planning to take on a monster wave or just want a long, gentle ride.

N is for Noseriding

An artful maneuver, noseriding involves riding on the front tip of the board. Considered one of surfing’s classic disciplines, it is gaining in popularity and has spawned its own competitions. Hanging Ten is the best-known variant, which is most typically performed on longboards in smaller waves.

O is for Outerknown

Co-founded by none other than Kelly Slater, Culver City–based Outerknown brings together surf style and sustainability. The enlightened brand seeks not only to protect the environment but also the workers who make its clothing. Among Outerknown’s eco-friendly methods, the company uses Econyl, a nylon yarn made from old fishing nets, in its boardshorts.

P is for Point Break

If ever a film could be both the best and worst surfing movie of all time, it would be Point Break. Keanu Reeves stars as a former college quarterback and now undercover FBI agent Johnny Utah alongside Patrick Swayze as Bodhi, a surfer-mystic and leader of a gang of bank robbers. You won't forget immortal dialogue, like “I caught my first tube today—Sir!”

Q is for Quiksilver

From its humble origins in Australia, Huntington Beach–based Quiksilver grew into a surfwear giant, spinning off the women’s line Roxy and sponsoring World Surf League competitions. The brand lives by this credo: “We believe boardriding is a universal source of fun, freedom, and natural energy, so powerful it transforms lives.”

R is for Rincon

It takes a special wave to inspire the title of “Queen of the Coast.” Indeed this point break along the Santa Barbara-Ventura county line produces some of the country’s very best waves during its prime winter season. Author William Finnegan rejected the “Queen” branding, instead de-scribing Rincon as “…the best wave in California, a long, hollow, wintertime right of astonishing quality.” In nearby Carpinteria, find board designs and Rincon-branded gear at Rincon Designs Surf Shop—even if you only watch from shore.

S is for Santa Cruz

Regarded as the birthplace of mainland surfing thanks to a day in 1885 when a trio of Hawaiian princes fashioned boards out of redwood planks, Santa Cruz remains a major American surfing capital. For viewing, you can’t beat the natural amphitheater that overlooks Steamer Lane. And in a lighthouse atop the point at Steamer, the Santa Cruz Surfing Museum honors the local heritage.

T is for Tarantulas at Jalama Beach County Park

No beach is farther off Highway 1, but plenty of surfers drive the 14-mile detour in Santa Barbara County when there are south-southwest swells at the break known as Tarantulas. And a fair portion of those surfers fuel their sessions with California's quintessential Jalama Burgers.

U is for U.S. Open of Surfing

The world’s largest surf competition at Huntington Beach Pier is a weeklong celebration of all things surf and more—with concerts, art exhibitions, and skateboarding and BMX demonstrations, all free to the public.

V is for Venice

Not far from the bizarre bazaar that is the Venice Beach Boardwalk, on winter days with west-northwest swells you’ll find surprisingly good waves at Breakwater, Venice’s primo spot. Serious surfers should check out the boards crafted by Venice-based master shaper Guy Okazaki.

W is for The Wedge

Gnarly doesn’t even begin to describe the mayhem unleashed in Newport Beach when summer south swells reach the jetty at the end of the Balboa Peninsula, bringing to life the Frankenstein monster of a wave at The Wedge. A world-class bodysurfing and bodyboarding spot, The Wedge’s waves can reach 30 feet. Not safe for newbies but quite a show from shore.

X is for X Games

Surfing debuted at the X Games with a 2003 competition in Huntington Beach. It is now a part of the Olympic Games after its debut at the 2020 Games in Tokyo, Japan. Italo Ferreira and Carissa Moore were the first gold medalists.

Y is for You Should Have Been Here an Hour Ago

Surf literature hit the big time when William Finnegan won a 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life. An earlier classic, You Should Have Been Here an Hour Ago, is the 1967 autobiography of Oceanside’s Phil Edwards, named “one of the 25 Most Influential Surfers of the Century” in 1999 by Surfer magazine.

Z is for Zinc Oxide

Long before SPF 100+, surfers relied on zinc oxide for sun protection. While guarding against the effects of UV rays is important to anyone who spends a lot of time in the water, chemical-based sunscreens are harmful to coral reefs. Mineral-based protections aren’t perfect but they’re better. Also, look for sunscreens that are identified as micro-sized or non-nano to further reduce impacts on the marine environment.

Removed from Likes

Traveler Photos

Tag #VISITCALIFORNIA on Instagram to have your trip featured on our page.

An ocean shore

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get weekly travel inspiration, offers, contests, and more!

Subscribe to our Newsletter