German (DE)German (DE)

Beliebte Seiten:

Visit California logo

Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum

Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum

Erkunden Sie die Jahre von Reagan als Präsident in diesem malerischen Museum im Simi Valley

Removed from Likes

Dieses Museum in Ventura County zelebriert das Leben des ehemaligen Filmstars und Kaliforniers, der einer der berühmtesten Präsidenten des 20. Jahrhunderts wurde. Es hat aber auch Fans aufgrund ihrer beeindruckenden Ausstellungen gewonnen, von einer Air Force One bis hin zu einem Stück der Berliner Mauer. Gelegen auf 100 Acres mit Blicken über den Pazifischen Ozean, ist dieses Presidential Museum vielleicht eines der malerischsten der Nation.

Tatsächlich ist die Reagan Library regelmäßig oben auf der Liste von Presidential Museen in Bezug auf Besucher (im Schnitt kommen jährlich circa eine halbe Million Besucher). Aber der Reiz führt weiter als nur um Politik-Themen. „Sie müssen kein Republikaner sein um sich für etwas zu begeistern“, sagt Melissa Giller, Chief Marketing Office von The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation & Institute. „Unsere Besucher lernen viel über die amerikanische Geschichte und über die U.S. Präsidentschaft im Allgemeinen.“

Die Hauptgallerien bieten einen Einblick in Reagans Kindheit und seine frühere Karriere sowie eine einfache Einführung in die Reagan Präsidentschaft: den Olympia Boykott, die Gespräche mit Gorbachev und sogar den Attentat Versuch (sehen Sie hier die Jacke, die Reagan zu der Zeit getragen hat). Interaktive Ausstellungen bieten Ihnen die Möglichkeit, selbst aktiv zu werden: reiten Sie neben Reagan auf einem Pferd auf seiner Rancho del Cielo, spielen Sie in einem seiner Hollywood-Filme mit oder blättern Sie in einer digitalen Version seines Tagebuchs.

Ein paar Dauerausstellungen greifen auch andere Themen als Reagan auf. Es gibt eine Nachbildung vom Oval Office, eine Ausstellung über den Secret Service und die Air Force One Pavilion, in dem man das Flugzeug findet, das sieben amerikanische Präsidenten beförderte (darunter auch Reagan) sowie die Marine One, die von Präsident Lyndon B. Johnson genutzt wurde. 

Machen Sie einen virtuelle Pferderitt neben Reagan auf seiner Rancho del Cielo und genießen Sie ein Bier in einem Nachbau eines Pubs in Irland, das nach ihm benannt ist.

Sie finden hier auch einen idealen Ort, um sich etwas zu erholen: ein Nachbau vom The Ronald Reagan, ein Pub im Dorf Ballyporeen, Heimatort von Reagans Vorfahren in Irland, das er auch 1984 während seiner diplomatischen Reise besuchte. Der Pub bietet Sandwiches, traditionelle Softgetränke und Bier. Oder Sie essen im Reagan’s Country Café zu Mittag, wo Sie Salate, Air Force One Angus Beef Burger und F-14 Fighter Hot Dogs auf der Speisekarte finden. 

Gehen Sie nach der Stärkung wieder nach Draußen und schauen sich die Nachbauten des Rose Garden und South Lawn vom Weißen Haus an sowie Reagans letzte Ruhestätte und Gedenkstätte, neben seiner Frau Nancy. Gehen Sie nicht, bevor Sie nicht das knapp 3000 Kilo schwere Stück Berliner Mauer mit Graffiti gesehen haben, die zwei Jahre nach der berühmten Rede von Reagan in 1987 am Brandenburger Tor gefallen ist. „Wir überqueren weiterhin Grenzen und Stereotypen“ sagt Giller, „von dem was eine Presidential Library and Museum sein soll.“

Removed from Likes

Fotos von Reisenden

Verwenden Sie auf Instagram den Hashtag #VISITCALIFORNIA und wir teilen Ihren Trip auf unserer Seite.

California Winery

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up and get weekly travel inspiration and ideas

Subscribe to our Newsletter

English (US)
Visit California logo

Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum

Explore the Reagan years at this picturesque museum in Simi Valley

Removed from Likes

    The Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum in Ventura County celebrates the life of the former movie star and Californian who became one of the 20th century’s most iconic presidents, but it has also won fans for its wow-factor exhibits, from an actual Air Force One to a piece of the Berlin Wall. Sitting on 100 acres overlooking the Pacific Ocean, this may be the most scenic presidential museum in the nation.

    Indeed, the Reagan Library regularly tops lists of presidential museums in terms of attendance (roughly a half million visitors per year, on average). But its appeal goes well beyond any politics. “You do not need to be a Republican or have voted for Ronald Reagan to get something out of a visit to our campus,” says Melissa Giller, the chief marketing officer of The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation & Institute. “Our visitors learn about American history and about the American presidency as a whole.”

    A walk through the museum’s main galleries offers a look at Reagan’s upbringing and early career, as well as an easy-access history lesson in the Reagan presidency, such as the Olympic boycott, the talks with Gorbachev, and even the assassination attempt (see the bullet-hole-pierced jacket Reagan was wearing at the time). Interactive exhibits let you get a hands-on feel for, say, riding a horse alongside Reagan at his Rancho del Cielo, acting in a movie with him from his Hollywood days, or flipping through a digital version of his faithfully kept diary.

    A few of the permanent exhibits go beyond Reagan himself too. There’s a scaled replica of the Oval Office, an exhibit about the Secret Service, and the Air Force One Pavilion, which contains the actual airplane that served seven U.S. Presidents (including Reagan) as well as the Marine One used by President Lyndon B. Johnson.

    In this area you’ll also find a prime spot for a museum-day recharge: a replica of The Ronald Reagan, a pub in the president’s ancestral village of Ballyporeen, Ireland, where he made a stop during a diplomatic trip in 1984; the pub serves sandwiches, old-fashioned sodas, and pints of beer. Or, grab lunch at the Reagan’s Country Café, where the menu includes salads, Air Force One Angus Beef Hamburgers, and F-14 Fighter Dogs. 

    Head back outside to see replicas of the White House’s Rose Garden and South Lawn, as well as Reagan’s final resting place and memorial, next to wife Nancy. Don’t leave without seeing the graffiti-covered, 6,338-pound piece of the Berlin Wall, which came down two years after Reagan’s famous 1987 speech at the Brandenburg Gate. “We continue to break barriers and stereotypes,” says Giller, “of what a presidential library and museum is considered to be.” 

     

    Removed from Likes

    Traveler Photos

    Tag #VISITCALIFORNIA on Instagram to have your trip featured on our page.