French (FR)French (FR)

Pages populaires :

Visit California logo

César E. Chávez National Monument

César E. Chávez National Monument

Voyagez au cœur de la révolution des travailleurs agricoles

Removed from Likes

Le cri de ralliement « ¡Si, se puede! » (Oui, on peut le faire !) a secoué le monde en 1972, quand le défenseur des travailleurs et militant pour les droits civiques César Estrada Chávez et la co-fondatrice de son syndicat United Farm Workers, Dolores Huerta, lancèrent ce slogan pour défendre leurs causes révolutionnaires.. Aujourd’hui, le César E. Chávez National Monument raconte la vie de Chávez et rend hommage à son statut de leader et à ses manifestations non-violentes, qui attira l’attention et le soutien international sur les bas salaires et les conditions de travail souvent inhumaines des travailleurs dans les fermes américaines. 

Le site d’hommage est connu sous le nom approprié de La Paz, soit «la paix». Situé à environ 48 km au sud de Bakersfield, il se trouve dans un ranch historique proche du monument historique «the National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark/California Historical Landmark” de Tehachapi Loop. Le domaine comprend un centre d’accueil pour visiteurs, des jardins commémoratifs de roses et de cactus, et un lieu de sépulture bordé de fontaines pour Chávez (décédé en 1993) et son épouse Helen, ainsi que leurs deux chiens fidèles.

Commencez la visite dans le hall d’exposition, où le bureau de Chávez est conservé avec des piles de dossiers posés sur son bureau en bois finement sculpté. Le hall présente également une cahute frêle fabriquée en métal ondulé rouillé et en bois déformé par la pluie, exemple choquant des conditions de logement déplorables qui étaient le lot commun des travailleurs agricoles dans les années 1960.

Les archives photographiques sont également impressionnantes, détaillant les efforts de Chávez qui démontraient qu’effectivement, « ¡Si, se puede! » En 1975, le « Golden State » a voté le California Agricultural Labor Relations Act, la première loi américaine reconnaissant les droits de négociation collective des travailleurs agricoles.

Removed from Likes

Photos de voyageurs

Utilisez #VISITCALIFORNIA sur Instagram pour que votre voyage soit présenté sur notre page.

California Winery

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up and get weekly travel inspiration and ideas

Subscribe to our Newsletter

English (US)
Visit California logo

César E. Chávez National Monument

Take a journey into the farm workers’ revolution

Removed from Likes

The rousing cry of ¡Si, se puede! (Yes, it can be done!) rocked the world in 1972, when labor leader and civil rights activist César Estrada Chávez and his United Farm Workers Union co-founder, Dolores Huerta, came up with the slogan to champion their revolutionary causes. Today, the César E. Chávez National Monument tells the story of Chávez’s life and pays tribute to his leadership and nonviolent protests, which brought sustained international attention to the low pay and often inhumane working conditions of U.S. farm workers. 

Appropriately, the tribute site is known as La Paz, or peace. Located about 30 miles south of Bakersfield, it’s set on a historic ranch near the National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark/California Historical Landmark at Tehachapi Loop. The property contains a visitor’s center, memorial rose and cactus gardens, and a fountain-framed gravesite for Chávez (who died in 1993) and his wife Helen, plus their two loyal dogs.

Start in the exhibit hall, where Chávez’s office is preserved with piles of paperwork atop his ornately carved wood desk. The hall also boasts a rickety shack made of rusted corrugated metal and weather-warped wood as a shocking example of the deplorable housing common for farm workers during the 1960s.

The photography archive is impressive as well, detailing Chávez’s efforts that showed, indeed, ¡Si, se puede! In 1975, the Golden State passed the California Agricultural Labor Relations Act, as the first law in the U.S. to recognize farm workers’ collective bargaining rights.

Removed from Likes

Traveler Photos

Tag #VISITCALIFORNIA on Instagram to have your trip featured on our page.