×
German (DE)German (DE)
Orte zum Besuchen
Dinge die zu tun sind
Bloggen
Autofahrten
Mehr


Erkunde Kalifornien

In meiner Nähe
Empfohlen

San Luis Obispo County Wine Country

San Luis Obispo County Wine Country

Entdecken Sie Cowboy-trifft-auf-Winzer-Städtchen und nachhaltige Weingüter

San Luis Obispo und Umgebung gelten als eine der besten Weinanbauregionen des Bundesstaates, was direkt zurück ins 18. Jahrhundert zu den spanischen Padres führt. Aber auch wenn Sie einen Cabernet nicht von einem Chardonnay unterscheiden können, ist das entspannte Cowboy-trifft-auf-Winzer-Städtchen mit seinen Weingütern direkt an der felsigen Küste trotzdem eine gute Wahl. Die vier AVAs von San Luis Obispo haben alle etwas Anderes im Angebot. Zusätzlich zum Pinot Noir, für den dieses Gebiet besonders bekannt ist, finden Sie hier Chardonnay (Arroyo Grande Valley), Syrah und Viognier (Edna Valley), Merlot und Zinfandel (Paso Robles) und Cabernet Sauvignon (York Mountain). Kurzgesagt: Wenn Sie Wein lieben, haben Sie den richtigen Ort ausgewählt.

Südlich der Stadt ist Edna Valley die Heimat vieler Top-Weingüter, darunter Tolosa, BalleyanaChamisal — das allererste SIP-zertifizierte Weingut — und ein weiterer Betrieb mit Fokus auf Nachhaltigkeit: Wolff Vineyards, wo ein Auffangsystem unter der Erde dafür sorgt, dass mindestens 30 % des genutzten Wassers gespart werden. Die durchschnittliche Entfernung von Edna Valley zum Meer beträgt nur acht Kilometer, was für ein mildes Klima und kühle Abende sorgt – so können Chardonnay und Pinot Noir ihr optimales Potenzial erreichen. Auch ein vielfältiger Boden sorgt für Charakter und Komplexität.

Wenn Sie Ihre Reise durch das Wine Country noch weiter ausdehnen möchten, empfiehlt sich die knapp 50 Kilometer in Richtung Nordosten gelegene Region Paso Robles. Hier gibt es mehr als 200 Weingüter – von familiengeführten Betrieben bis zu bekannten Marken wie J. Lohr und Estrella River. Beide heißen Besucher willkommen und bieten preisgekrönte Weine an. Vom wärmeren Klima in Paso Robles profitieren besonders die Trauben für Bordeaux, Rhône und Zinfandel, die Winzer in innovativen Mischungen als auch in traditionellen Weinlesen einsetzen. Direkt neben Paso Robles liegt das kühlere und nassere York Mountain-AVA mit Weingütern wie Epoch Estate Wine und Lago Giuseppe Winery.

Eine vierte Region und damit das vierte AVA-Gebiet von San Luis Obispo, Arroyo Grande Valley, befindet sich 20 Kilometer südöstlich der Stadt. Die Region ist für ihren Chardonnay und Pinot Noir bekannt. Fans dieser Sorten sollten Laetitia Vineyard and Winery, Talley Vineyards und Peacock Cellars einen Besuch abstatten.

Wenn Sie sich selbst eine Mischung aus Gebieten und Sorten zusammenstellen möchten, werden auch geführte Touren angeboten, unter anderem von Breakaway Tours und SLO Safe Ride.

 

California Winery

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up and get weekly travel inspiration and ideas

Subscribe to our Newsletter

English (US)English (US)

Popular Pages:

Visit California logo

San Luis Obispo County Wine Country

San Luis Obispo County Wine Country

Explore cowboy-meet-wine-country towns and sustainable vineyards

Removed from Likes

The San Luis Obispo region ranks as one of the state’s premiere wine growing regions, dating back to the 18th century and the time of the Spanish padres. But even if you don’t know a Cab from a Chardonnay, the wine country still beckons, with relaxed, cowboy-meets-winemaker towns and vineyards that blanket coastal hills. SLO’s five AVAs each have something different to offer; in addition to the Pinot Noir this part of the state is particularly known for, you can savor Chardonnay (Arroyo Grande Valley and San Luis Obispo Coast), Syrah and Viognier (Edna Valley), Merlot and Zinfandel (Paso Robles), Cabernet Sauvignon (York Mountain). In short: If you love wine, you’ve come to the right place.

South of town, Edna Valley is home to many top wineries, such as TolosaBaileyanaChamisal—the very first SIP-certified winery—and another sustainability-minded operation, Wolff Vineyards, where the underground PVC irrigation system is saves at least 30 percent of water originally used. The average distance of Edna Valley vineyards to the ocean is just five miles, bringing mild days and cool evenings that help Chardonnay and Pinot Noir reach their maximum potential. A varied soil profile adds character and complexity too.

To extend your wine-country travels, continue about 30 miles northeast to the Paso Robles region. Here, more than 200 wineries ranging from family-owned boutiques to well-known labels such as J. Lohr welcome visitors to sip and swirl award-winning vintages. Paso Robles’ warmer inland climate lends itself to Bordeaux, Rhône and Zinfandel grapes, which vintners use in innovative blends, as well as traditional vintages. Right next to Paso Robles, though cooler and wetter, is the York Mountain AVA, and home to such vintners as Epoch Estate Wine and Lago Giuseppe Winery.

A fourth area—and another of the SLO region’s AVAs—Arroyo Grande Valley is about 13 miles southeast of the city. Chardonnay and Pinot Noir are the standouts here; fans of those varietals should make their way to Laetitia Vineyard and WineryTalley Vineyards, and Peacock Cellars. The newest of the region’s AVAs is the San Luis Obispo Coast AVA, which stretches from San Luis Obispo County’s northern border near Big Sur to the southern boundary with Santa Barbara County. It includes the existing appellations of Edna Valley and Arroyo Grande, whose producers can now choose to use “San Luis Obispo Coast” or “SLO Coast” on their labels. 

To achieve your own blend of variety, delight, and safety, consider joining a guided tour: Group and private options abound, including Breakaway Tours and SLO Safe Ride.

Removed from Likes
California Winery

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up and get weekly travel inspiration and ideas

Subscribe to our Newsletter