California Restaurant Month VC_CRM_Foundational_Stock_RF_356488_1280x640_0
The Picture Pantry/Offset

California Restaurant Month

Kalifornien ist die Top-Destination für Essensliebhaber in den USA – und es ist einfach zu erkennen, wieso. Der Cobb-Salat wurde hier entwickelt. Und der Cheeseburger. Der Staat produziert 90 Prozent des Weins der USA. Und Kalifornien ist auch für den ganzen „Locavore“ Trend verantwortlich, das zuerst im 1971 eröffneten Alice Waters Restaurant, Chez Panisse, in Berkeley zum Leben erweckt wurde.

Vermutlich mehr als an keinem anderen Ort auf der Welt, hat Kalifornien Essen zu einer Kunstform verwandelt. Von Farmen zu Festmahlen und alles, was dazwischen liegt, zeigt die kalifornische Essensindustrie der Welt, dass Essen und Kochen eins der schönsten Dinge im Leben sein können.

Der Januar ist „California Restaurant Month“ und stellt die großartige Fülle an Möglichkeiten in den Fokus. Es macht das Essen gehen noch etwas zugänglicher als sonst, mit einer großen Anzahl an teilnehmenden Restaurants in Städten und Regionen im ganzen Staat, die besondere Angebote und Menüs im Monat Januar anbieten.

 „Im Januar wandelt sich Kalifornien sehr“, sagt Farley Elliot, Senior Editor bei der angesagten Food-Website Eater LA. „In dieser Zeit wird das Wetter etwas schlechter, Menschen genießen die seltenen wolkigen Tage und Genießer freuen sich auf Wohlfühlgerichte wie Cassolette oder Hähnchen aus dem Ofen.“

So funktioniert es: teilnehmende Städte und Regionen – von San Diego nach Sonoma und Temecula nach Tahoe – haben ihre eigene Restaurant-Woche, die von einer Woche bis hin zu 10 Tagen im Januar andauert. Während dieser Woche zelebrieren Restaurants mit besonderen Angeboten, wie zum Beispiel Menüs zu Fixpreisen oder deutlich reduzierte Gerichte.

„Nach der hektischen Weihnachtszeit ist es für Gäste eine tolle Zeit zu entspannen und sich ein tolles Essenserlebnis zu gönnen“, sagt Küchenchef Jay C. Veregge, Director of Culinary Operations der Harvego Restaurant Group in Sacramento, dessen Restaurants The Firehouse, Ten22 und District schon an den Feierlichkeiten teilgenommen haben. „California Restaurant Month bietet Gästen eine fantastische Möglichkeit, in mehreren Restaurants Gerichte zu tollen Preisen zu essen. Aus der Perspektive der Restaurants ist es eine super Erinnerung daran, wie viele unglaubliche Restaurants Kalifornien zu bieten hat.“

Bon appétit!

California Restaurant Month
The Picture Pantry/Offset

California Restaurant Month

California is the No. 1 destination for food-loving travelers in America, and it's easy to see why. The Cobb salad was invented here. So too was the cheeseburger. The state produces 90 percent of the wine in the United States. And California is also responsible for the whole "locavore" trend, first brought to life by Alice Waters’ Berkeley restaurant, Chez Panisse, which opened in 1971.

Possibly more than any other place on the planet, California has turned eating into an art form. From farming to feasting and everything in between, the California food industry has shown the world that dining and cooking can be one of the great pleasures in life.

January’s California Restaurant Month puts the state’s amazing bounty on rich display. It makes feasting even more accessible than usual, with a legion of participating restaurants in cities and regions across the state offering deals and special menus at various times during the month.

California really transforms in January,” says Farley Elliott, senior editor at the influential dining website, Eater LA. “It's when the weather finally starts to dip, people find themselves loving those rare cloudy days, and diners sink into deep booths for hearty meals like a cassoulet or pan-roasted chicken.”

Here’s how it works: Participating cities and regions—from San Diego to Sonoma, and Temecula to Tahoe—have their own restaurant week, lasting anywhere from a week to 10 days during the month of January. During each weeklong celebration various restaurants offer special deals, such as affordable prix fixe menus for lunch and/or dinner, or sizably discounted meals.

After the frenetic pace of the holiday season, this is a good time for guests to relax and treat themselves to great dining,” says Chef Jay C. Veregge, director of culinary operations of the Harvego Restaurant Group in Sacramento whose restaurants The Firehouse, Ten22, and District have participated in the festivities. “California Restaurant Month provides guests a fantastic opportunity to have an amazing meal at multiple restaurants for a great price. From a restaurant perspective, it is a good reminder of all the incredible restaurants throughout California.”

Bon appétit!